Is there a version of HMG (without QT) that is 64-bits ?

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Is there a version of HMG (without QT) that is 64-bits ?

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi

Is there a version of HMG (without QT) that is 64-bits ?

If not, are there any plans to do so ?


CCH4CLIPPER
http://cch4clipper.blogspot.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5411
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Has thanked: 252 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Post by Rathinagiri »

Nope. There is no such version as of now.

I don't have any idea about converting 32 bits to 64 bits. I will try to study.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.

CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi Rathinagiri

That is too bad as HMG Extended aka Minigui will not have a 64-bits version.

As at today (I started yesterday) , I have managed to download Harbour3.2dev source and recompiled it into 64-bits and then recompiled one of my pure harbour apps to 64-bits and yes, It worked very well on Windows 64 bits but does not run on Windows 32. To verify that it was indeed a 64-bits apps, I launched Taskbar and voila no 32 -bit label on the RHS of my app :-)

Although, there is currently no pressing need to have a 64-bits version as Windows 7/8 64-bits uses a 32-bit emulator called WOW to enable 32-bit apps to run on Win7/8 64-bits. But what if the next version of windows run on 128 bits and 32bit apps suffer the same fate as Clipper 16-bit ?

My interest in HMG is the usage of the progress bar as most if not all the HMG apps that I write are processing engine with the mandatory progress bar.
Is there any way to do a mini-HMG GUI lib in 64-bits ?

BTW, FWH, a commercial GUI lib by Antonio Linaries of Fivetech is already 64-bits.

Cheers !

CCH4CLIPPER
http://cch4clipper.blogspot.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
esgici
Posts: 4543
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
DBs Used: DBF
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Has thanked: 411 times
Been thanked: 120 times
Contact:

Post by esgici »

Viva INTERNATIONAL HMG :D

CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi Rathinagiri

Perhaps you could simply recompile the 3.0.46 version with Harbour 3.2Dev 64 bits using 64-bits MingW as the compiler.

CCH4CLIPPER
http://cch4clipper.blogspot.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
srvet_claudio
Posts: 2163
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Uruguay
Has thanked: 69 times
Been thanked: 264 times
Contact:

Post by srvet_claudio »

There are some Windows 32 bits functions that became obsolete with Windows 64 bits, you have to replace them with new equivalent functions.
Best regards.
Dr. Claudio Soto
(from Uruguay)
http://srvet.blogspot.com

CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi srvet_claudio

Perhaps you can list these obsolete functions for Rathinagari ?
The interesting thing is that Harbour32dev seems to be easily recompiled as 64-bits :-)

Post Reply